Within three days of visiting my G.P I received a phone call from Calderdale and Huddersfield NHS Trust with an appointment for the ultrasound on my neck. Mum received the phone call at about 9am on the Thursday, and my appointment was at 2.30pm. We were very surprised at the speed of the appointment, luckily due to a cancellation. I’ve had an ultrasound on my neck before, regarding a small lump I had there back in 2010, so I knew what to expect. I was pleased to find that I was seeing a doctor, rather than just a radiographer as he was able to give me a lot of informationon the scans there and then rather than me waiting for a further appointment. After the ultrasound, he told me that the lump looked like it was a cyst, but that it had solid components in it, which could be thyroid tissue or in some cases cancerous tissues. Due to this, I would need further tests, and he arranged for me to see a Ear, Neck and Throat Consultant/Surgeon, and to have biopsies taken. I would also need an MRI scan. The ultrasound also found an enlarged node on the right hand side of my neck, which he also wanted to take biopsies from.

The following day I spoke to my G.P over the phone from work. He was fantastic at reassuring me, and answered all the queries I had. He read me the report from my ultrasound, and informed me he thought it may be a congenital cyst (meaning I was born with it), yet it was being treated as ‘suspected cancer’ so that I would be seen quickly.

Within the week I received an appointment to Huddersfield Royal Infirmary for an MRI scan, something which I wasn’t too worried about as I had an fMRI whilst at university. I mainly did this to get a picture of my brain. Sad, I know. However, this didn’t feel quite as good as being paid to do a psychological experiment in a scanner when I had to have a cannula inserted into my arm so that the nursers could inject contrast dye part way through the scan. This dye apparently shows up blood flow, which can help identify which masses are malignant or benign.

The following week I went to see the consultant, which by far was the most upsetting part of my whole experience. Over the course of the morning, I met my consultant, had a nasal endoscopy (where a tiny camera is placed up the nose and down through the throat) and was sent immediately for another ultrasound and fine needle aspirations. It wasn’t until I went upstairs for my biopsies that I realised I had two Macmillan nurses in the room when I saw the consultant. I now understand this was a precaution, incase the news from the MRI indicated anything sinister, and they were there to provide emotional support regardless of the outcome. I was also given information on Thyroglossal Duct Cysts and the ‘Sistrunk Procedure’, the operation used to remove a cyst of this type.

I won’t lie, the fine needle aspiration wasn’t a pleasant experience. After some disagreement with the radiographer (who insisted I was having one, not two biopsies, and from the opposite side to which the cyst was located), I had four needles inserted into my neck, and cells extracted from both the cyst and the enlarged node identified by the previous radiographer. I was told this was similar to a blood test. It wasn’t like any blood test I’ve ever had before!

The least traumatic part of the day was in fact the later blood test I was sent for. I was number 19 on the list, so mum and I decided to go for a coffee. In typical Bethany style I missed my number, returning to the phlebotomy department at number 28. Regardless, the nurses slotted me in and I went back to work (much later than originally expected), but with two large plasters on my neck to cover the holes/bruises from the biopsies. At least they knew I wasn’t pulling a sickie!

Leave a comment